Monday 21 March 2016



Rain Has Fallen, But Restrictions Apply

Rainfall was recorded at South Gippsland Water's storages from **12**th **of March 2016 to 18**th **March 2016**. Lance Creek 16.5mm, Ruby Creek 18mm, Coalition Creek 28mm, Deep Creek 20mm, Little Bass 30mm and Battery Creek 32mm.

Even with this welcome, but brief, period of rainfall, Stage 2 water restrictions will apply to South Gippsland Water customers in Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora from midnight Thursday 24 March 2016.

As of Friday 18th March, reservoir levels for the Coalition Creek Water Supply System (Korumburra) and the Little Bass Water Supply System (Poowong, Loch and Nyora) were at 53% and 42% respectively."

South Gippsland Water's Managing Director, Philippe du Plessis said, "These low storage levels and forecasts for continuing dry weather conditions has led to Stage 2 'SAVE' Water Restrictions being activated."

"South Gippsland Water warns that if current weather and water usage patterns continue, Stage 3 Water Restrictions can be expected to be activated for Stage 2 townships in the future."

The Corporation will continue to closely monitor water storages and river flow over the coming weeks.

Information regarding Permanent Water Saving Rules (which apply across the region) and Stage 2 "SAVE" Water Restrictions (Fish Creek, Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora)) can be found at <u>www.sgwater.com.au</u> or contact South Gippsland Water on 1300 851 636 with questions or concerns regarding smarter water usage.

Reservoir	Major towns supplied	Capacity level %	Comments
Lance Creek	Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson	66	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek	Leongatha & surrounds	48	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek	Korumburra and surrounds	53	Stage 2 Restrictions (from 24/03/16)
Foster Dam – Deep Creek	Foster area	64	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass	Poowong, Nyora & Loch	42	Stage 2 Restrictions (from 24/03/16)
Battery Creek	Fish Creek	50	Stage 2 Restrictions

River Systems	Major Town Supplied	Current Status
Tarwin	Meeniyan, Dumbalk	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes	Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra	Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert	Permanent Water Saving Measures