Monday 29 February 2016



## Water Restrictions Apply To Three Storages

Rainfall was recorded at South Gippsland Water's storages from **20th of February 2016 to 26<sup>th</sup> of February 2016**. Lance Creek 11mm, Ruby Creek 3mm, Coalition Creek 9mm, Deep Creek 3mm, Little Bass 2mm and Battery Creek 4mm.

Total rainfall for the month of February is recorded as: Lance Creek 28mm, Ruby Creek 18mm, Coalition Creek 28mm, Deep Creek 33mm, Little Bass 18mm and Battery Creek 29mm.

As of Thursday 3 March 2016, Stage 1 Water Restrictions will apply to South Gippsland Water customers of the Little Bass Water Supply System, under uniform State Model Water Restriction By-laws.

Philippe du Plessis, Managing Director, South Gippsland Water said, "This step is taken to alert the community that water storages are starting to get low. This means that customers connected to the reticulated water supply system within and surrounding the townships of Poowong, Loch and Nyora need to start activating more water efficient practices."

Water Restrictions for the Battery Creek Water Supply System, utilised by the township of Fish Creek, will be elevated to Stage 2 at midnight on Thursday 3 March 2016 under uniform State Model Water Restriction By-laws.

"This measure is being put in place now as the township needs to conserve water supplies until such time that autumn/winter rains can replenish storages," explained Mr du Plessis. "The Corporation will closely monitor storage levels and will activate higher level restrictions as required."

Information regarding Permanent Water Saving Rules (which apply across the region), Stage 1 "ALERT" Water Restrictions (Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora), and Stage 2 "SAVE" Water Restrictions (Fish Creek) can be found at <u>www.sgwater.com.au</u> or contact South Gippsland Water on 1300 851 636 with questions or concerns regarding smarter water usage.

Reservoir	Major towns supplied	Capacity level %	Comments
Lance Creek	Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson	69	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek	Leongatha & surrounds	53	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek	Korumburra and surrounds	58	Stage 1 Restrictions
Foster Dam – Deep Creek	Foster area	77	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass	Poowong, Nyora & Loch	51	Stage 1 Restrictions
Battery Creek	Fish Creek	53	Stage 2 Restrictions

River Systems	Major Town Supplied	Current Status
Tarwin	Meeniyan, Dumbalk	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes	Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra	Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert	Permanent Water Saving Measures