Media Release

Monday 14TH June 2016



Storages Benefit From June Rainfall

Rainfall was recorded at South Gippsland Water's storages from **3**rd **June – 10**th **June 2016**. Lance Creek 34mm, Ruby Creek 27mm, Coalition Creek 24mm, Deep Creek 29mm, Little Bass 24mm and Battery Creek 29mm.

Philippe du Plessis, Managing Director, South Gippsland Water said, "The gradual increase in water storage figures over the past three weeks is encouraging both for the Corporations and for our customers."

"Equally promising is that storage levels are likely to have increased further over the long weekend, however, those rainfall figures have not been included in our totals just yet."

While Poowong, Loch, Nyora, Korumburra and Fish Creek remain on Stage 2 water restrictions, the level of restriction is reviewed on a week by week basis.

"With the weekend's rainfall, and the likelihood of more falls during June, there is a high possibility that the lifting of current water restrictions will not be too far away."

South Gippsland Water encourages customers to use water wisely and adhere to the permanent water savings rules and restriction levels currently in place.

Information regarding Permanent Water Saving Rules (which apply across the region) and Stage 2 "SAVE" Water Restrictions (Fish Creek, Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora) can be found at <u>www.sgwater.com.au</u> or contact South Gippsland Water on 1300 851 636 with questions or concerns regarding smarter water usage.

Reservoir	Major towns supplied	Capacity level %	Comments
Lance Creek	Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson	63	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek	Leongatha & surrounds	36	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek	Korumburra and surrounds	56	Stage 2 Restrictions (from 24/03/16)
Foster Dam – Deep Creek	Foster area	62	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass	Poowong, Nyora & Loch	45	Stage 2 Restrictions (from 24/03/16)
Battery Creek	Fish Creek	52	Stage 2 Restrictions (from 03/03/16)

River Systems	Major Town Supplied	Current Status
Tarwin	Meeniyan, Dumbalk	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes	Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra	Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert	Permanent Water Saving Measures