Media Release

Monday 1st August 2016



Water Storage Levels Above 80%

Rainfall was recorded at South Gippsland Water's storages from **23rd July 2016 – 29th July 2016**. Lance Creek 38mm, Ruby Creek 58mm, Coalition Creek 10mm, Deep Creek 67mm, Little Bass 18mm and Battery Creek 38mm.

Total rainfall figures for the month of July were: Lance Creek 141mm, Ruby Creek 156mm, Coalition Creek 124mm, Deep Creek 206mm, Little Bass 126mm and Battery Creek 133mm.

Philippe du Plessis, Managing Director, South Gippsland Water said, "All catchments have had a solid soaking over the past month resulting in all water storages being at or above 81% capacity."

Water storage levels as at 29th July 2016 were: Lance Creek (Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson) 100%, Ruby Creek (Leongatha) 97%, Coalition Creek (Korumburra) 100%, Deep Creek (Foster) 81%, Little Bass (Poowong, Loch and Nyora) 100%, and Battery Creek (Fish Creek) 100%.

"Given that the residents of Fish Creek, Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora were still on Stage 2 water restrictions in mid-June, these rainfall and storage figures are very encouraging."

South Gippsland Water continues to encourage customers to use water wisely, Permanent Water Saving Rules continue to be in place across all systems and townships.

Information regarding Permanent Water Saving Rules can be found at <u>www.sgwater.com.au</u> or contact South Gippsland Water on 1300 851 636 with questions or concerns regarding smarter water usage.

Reservoir	Major towns supplied	Capacity level %	Current Status
Lance Creek	Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson	100	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek	Leongatha & surrounds	97	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek	Korumburra and surrounds	100	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek	Foster area	81	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass	Poowong, Nyora & Loch	100	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek	Fish Creek	100	Permanent Water Saving Measures

River Systems	Major Town Supplied	Current Status
Tarwin	Meeniyan, Dumbalk	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes	Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin	Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra	Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert	Permanent Water Saving Measures