Hot weather continues to pressure storages

Monday, February 23rd, 2015

Rainfall recorded at South Gippsland Water’s storages from the 14th February to 23rd February 2015 was Lance Creek 33mm, Ruby Creek 29mm, Coalition Creek 28mm, Deep Creek 22mm, Little Bass 35mm and Battery Creek 23mm.

Warm weather conditions continue to pressure storage systems with reservoirs continuing to drop. All customers, community and sporting groups should ensure they are watering during the cool of the day and following the Permanent Water Saving Rules.

The Permanent Water Saving Rules are;

Water gardens, lawns & playing surfaces during the cool of the day: You may only water gardens and lawns, with a watering system between the hours of 6pm and 10am on any day or a hand-held hose fitted with a trigger nozzle at any time on any day.

Use trigger nozzles on hoses: All hand held hoses must be fitted with trigger nozzles and be free of leaks.

Sweep, don’t hose: Water should not be used to clean paved areas and hard surfaces, i.e. you should sweep driveways and paths. However, water may be used if there is a health or safety hazard, during construction or renovation, or if staining has developed and then only once a year. Use a high pressure water cleaner if available, otherwise a hand-held hose or bucket may be used.

Re-circulate Water: Fountains and water features can be used, provided they re-circulate water.


Reservoir Major towns supplied Capacity level % Comments
Lance Creek Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson 78 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek Leongatha & surrounds 73 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek Korumburra and surrounds 74 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek Foster area 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass Poowong, Nyora & Loch 65 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek Fish Creek 84 Permanent Water Saving Measures


River Systems Major Town Supplied Current Status
Tarwin Meeniyan, Dumbalk Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert Permanent Water Saving Measures