Storage and Rainfall Update 1-8 September

Monday, September 11th, 2017

Rainfall was recorded at South Gippsland Water’s storages from 1st – 8th September 2017. Lance Creek 79mm, Ruby Creek 57mm, Coalition Creek 54mm, Deep Creek 44mm, Little Bass 49mm and Battery Creek 77mm.

Philippe du Plessis, Managing Director for South Gippsland Water said, “The rainfall we are currently experiencing is welcome; all water storages are at 100% capacity except for Ruby Creek (Leongatha) which has risen to 79% capacity in the past week.”

“It is encouraging to see levels in the Ruby Water Supply System slowly creeping back to where we would expect them to be at this time of year. The catchment still needs more rainfall over the coming weeks to stave off potential summer water restrictions for the Leongatha township.”

In the meantime, Permanent Water Saving Rules are in place across the state to help all Victorians maintain a common-sense approach to water use. The rules are in force permanently and are separate from any other water restrictions South Gippsland Water may need to impose from time to time.

Information about Permanent Water Saving Rules can be found in the Services section of South Gippsland Water’s website For smart water advice and handy hints to help you save water visit

Any customers who have questions or concerns regarding their water supply can contact South Gippsland Water’s friendly Customer Service Team on 1300 851 636.

Graphs for individual systems can be found at

Reservoir Major towns supplied Capacity level % Current Status
Lance Creek Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek Leongatha and surrounds 79 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek Korumburra and surrounds 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek Foster area 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass Poowong, Nyora and Loch 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek Fish Creek 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures


River Systems Major Town Supplied Current Status
Tarwin Meeniyan, Dumbalk Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert Permanent Water Saving Measures