Storage and Rainfall Update

Monday, February 26th, 2018

Rainfall recorded at South Gippsland Water’s storages from 16th February 2018 – 23rd February 2018 was Lance Creek 3mm, Ruby Creek 2mm, Coalition Creek 1mm, Deep Creek 6mm, Little Bass 1mm and Battery Creek 5mm.

Philippe du Plessis, Managing Director for South Gippsland Water said, “Supplementary water supplies commenced last week for Korumburra. South Gippsland Water continues to monitor the system closely with storages currently below restriction levels. It is increasingly likely that water restrictions will be activated by mid March.  The use of supplementary water supply also continues for the Tarra River Water Supply System, which supplies Yarram and surrounds with river flows being carefully observed”.

Water by agreement customers at Devon North between the Tarra River and Devon North Water Treatment Plant will be affected if river flows drop below 3ML per day under the Corporations Bulk Entitlement Licence obligations. South Gippsland Water are encouraging Water by Agreement customers of Devon North, who may be affected by the low river flows to please make contact and discuss their circumstances.

Customers are encouraged to keep up to date with river flow levels via the website.  River flows will be published every 2 days on the Corporation’s system alerts page:  Tarra River flows were recorded as 4.2ML per day as at Monday 26th February 2018.

Any customers who have questions or concerns regarding their water supply can contact South Gippsland Water’s friendly Customer Service Team on 1300 851 636.

Reservoir Major towns supplied Capacity level % Current Status
Lance Creek Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson 81 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek Leongatha and surrounds 71 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek Korumburra and surrounds 59 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek Foster area 92 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass Poowong, Nyora and Loch 73 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek Fish Creek 83 Permanent Water Saving Measures


River Systems Major Town Supplied Current Status
Tarwin Meeniyan, Dumbalk Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert Permanent Water Saving Measures