Storage, Rainfall and River Flow Update

Monday, February 18th, 2019

Rainfall recorded at South Gippsland Water’s storages from 9th – 15th February 2019 was Lance Creek 15mm, Ruby Creek 16mm, Deep Creek 25mm and Battery Creek 35mm.

South Gippsland Water’s Managing Director, Philippe du Plessis said, “Catchments have received some rainfall over the last week, but on the whole the region and our water catchments remain dry. Reservoirs are mostly at acceptable levels for this time of year, however, Battery Creek is now being closely monitored. At 77% there is the potential that water restrictions could be needed for Fish Creek before the season ends. We encourage customers to use water wisely as common practice.”

“River flow in the Tarwin, Agnes and Tarra rivers is fluctuating with the dry weather conditions. Flows in the Tarra River recently dropped below 3ML/day which meant off-take to supply the Devon North Water Treatment Plant had to cease over the weekend”.

“Supply to the townships of Yarram, Devon North, Alberton and Port Albert has been augmented with bore water which is treated to Australian Drinking Water Guidelines. We continue to monitor and manage this system closely for customers,” confirmed Mr Du Plessis.

Across the region, all customers should follow the Permanent Water Saving Rules which are in place all year round. The top three rules to remember are:

1) Water during the cool – Between 6pm and 10am

2) Sweep, don’t hose – Hosing hard surfaces such as paths and driveways is not permitted

3) Install trigger nozzles – All outdoor hoses are required to be leak free and fitted with trigger nozzles

More information regarding Permanent Water Saving Rules is available at the South Gippsland Water website Any customers who have questions or concerns regarding their water supply can contact South Gippsland Water’s friendly Customer Service Team on 1300 851 636.

Reservoir Major towns supplied Capacity level % Current Status
Lance Creek Wonthaggi, Inverloch, Cape Paterson, Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora 86 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Melbourne Supply System currently utilised
Ruby Creek Leongatha and surrounds 72 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek Foster area 90 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek Fish Creek 77 Permanent Water Saving Measures


River Systems Major Town Supplied Current Status
Tarwin Meeniyan, Dumbalk Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert Permanent Water Saving Measures