Storage, River Flow and Rainfall Update

Monday, February 4th, 2019

Rainfall recorded at South Gippsland Water’s storages from 26th January – 1 February 2019 was Lance Creek 17mm, Ruby Creek 11mm, Deep Creek 25mm and Battery Creek 25mm.

Total rainfall recorded for the month of January 2019 was Lance Creek 23mm, Ruby Creek 18mm, Deep Creek 28mm and Battery Creek 29mm.

South Gippsland Water’s Managing Director, Philippe du Plessis said, “Although our catchments have received only minimal rainfall over the past week, our storages still remain at acceptable levels for this time of year.”

“We’ve been monitoring the Tarra River Water Supply System closely as river flow has gradually dropped. As a result of the dry conditions and drought across much of eastern Gippsland, flow is now at a point where off-take to supply the Devon North Water Treatment Plant has ceased.”

“To sustain water supplies for Yarram, Devon North, Alberton and Port Albert, we are now sourcing water from our bore in Devon North, the bore water is treated to Australian drinking water standards.”

Treatment to adjust for the varying quality of bore water is being carefully managed by South Gippsland Water and analysis confirms that the water meets all parameters of the Australian Drinking Water Guidelines.

Across the region, all customers are reminded to ensure they are following the Permanent Water Saving Rules which are in place all year round. The top three rules to remember are:

1) Water during the cool – Between 6pm and 10am

2) Sweep, don’t hose – Hosing hard surfaces such as paths and driveways is not permitted

3) Install trigger nozzles – All outdoor hoses are required to be leak free and fitted with trigger nozzles

Any customers who have questions or concerns regarding their water supply can contact South Gippsland Water’s friendly Customer Service Team on 1300 851 636.

Reservoir Major towns supplied Capacity level % Current Status
Lance Creek Wonthaggi, Inverloch, Cape Paterson, Korumburra, Poowong, Loch and Nyora 89 Permanent Water Saving Measures

Melbourne Supply System currently utilised

Ruby Creek Leongatha and surrounds 76 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek Foster area 92 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek Fish Creek 84 Permanent Water Saving Measures


River Systems Major Town Supplied Current Status
Tarwin Meeniyan, Dumbalk Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert Permanent Water Saving Measures