Storages continue to drop

Monday, March 2nd, 2015

Rainfall recorded at South Gippsland Water’s storages from the 21st February to 27th February 2015 was Lance Creek 3mm, Ruby Creek 4mm, Coalition Creek 4mm, Deep Creek 5mm, Little Bass 3mm and Battery Creek 16mm.

Reservoirs continue to drop, which is expected for the end of summer. All customers, community and sporting groups should ensure they are watering during the cool of the day and following the Permanent Water Saving Rules.

The Permanent Water Saving Rules are;

Water gardens, lawns & playing surfaces during the cool of the day: You may only water gardens and lawns, with a watering system between the hours of 6pm and 10am on any day or a hand-held hose fitted with a trigger nozzle at any time on any day.

Use trigger nozzles on hoses: All hand held hoses must be fitted with trigger nozzles and be free of leaks.

Sweep, don’t hose: Water should not be used to clean paved areas and hard surfaces, i.e. you should sweep driveways and paths. However, water may be used if there is a health or safety hazard, during construction or renovation, or if staining has developed and then only once a year. Use a high pressure water cleaner if available, otherwise a hand-held hose or bucket may be used.

Re-circulate Water: Fountains and water features can be used, provided they re-circulate water.


Reservoir Major towns supplied Capacity level % Comments
Lance Creek Wonthaggi, Inverloch and Cape Paterson 76 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Ruby Creek Leongatha & surrounds 71 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Coalition Creek Korumburra and surrounds 73 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Foster Dam – Deep Creek Foster area 100 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Little Bass Poowong, Nyora & Loch 63 Permanent Water Saving Measures
Battery Creek Fish Creek 81 Permanent Water Saving Measures


River Systems Major Town Supplied Current Status
Tarwin Meeniyan, Dumbalk Permanent Water Saving Measures
Agnes Welshpool, Port Welshpool, Toora, Port Franklin Permanent Water Saving Measures
Tarra Yarram, Alberton, Port Albert Permanent Water Saving Measures