Tuesday, September 12th, 2017

The Andrews Labor Government has achieved gender equality on water boards, with women now holding 50 per cent or more of seats on all water boards across Gippsland.

Women also hold 50 per cent of seats on the boards of Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) across the state.

The new appointments being announced by Minister for Water Lisa Neville today bring fresh skills into the sector and ensure that CMA and water corporations reflect the communities they represent.

In 2015 we saw more than 50 per cent of board seats being held by women across Victoria, however some individual boards still comprised of more men overall. The appointments announced today mean that the Gippsland water sector now has:

  • 72 per cent women on all CMA boards
  • 53 per cent women across all water corporation boards
  • 60 per cent female chairs for water corporations

The appointments reflect priorities set out in Water for Victoria, which identified the need to promote gender equality and diversity within the water sector, including opportunities for Traditional Owners to participate on boards across the sector.

This new approach to water management in Victoria will boost security of supply for households, industry and the farm sector, and meet environmental needs.

Ms Neville congratulated those board members who have been appointed or re-appointed to the boards, and thanked all continuing and departing board members for their service to the water sector and the community.

CMAs and water corporations play an important role working with local communities to deliver healthier rivers, waterways and water storages. They are also vital to the implementation of Water for Victoria – the Labor Government’s plan to secure water supplies at affordable prices and meet the challenges of climate change and population growth.

The appointment of all board members is a robust and fair process, based on the skill and merit of the applicants. For a full list of all new water board appointments visit: water.vic.gov.au/water-industry-and-customers/board-appointments-2017

Quotes attributable to Minister for Water Lisa Neville

“We want to ensure women have a seat at the table, and are part of the decision making for Victoria’s water security.”

“We’re unapologetic in our determination to promote inclusiveness and equality in our water sector, which is why it’s fantastic to see highly experienced and skilled women in senior roles.”

Quotes attributable to Member for Eastern Victoria Harriet Shing

“These new appointments will ensure water boards reflect our local communities and put local interests at the centre of decision making.”

Media Contact: Jessica Evans 0437 779 243 | Jessica.evans@minstaff.vic.gov.au

CMA new appointees:

West Gippsland CMA

Belinda Nave

Jodie Mason

Jane Oakley

Peter Jennings (Chair)

East Gippsland CMA

Frances MacLennan

Claire Miller

Water Corporation new appointees:

Susan Friend – South Gippsland Water

Ross Passalaqua – East Gippsland Water

Susan Taylor – East Gippsland Water

Timothy Weight – East Gippsland Water

Rodney Touzel – Gippsland Water

Christopher Badger – Gippsland Water

Christopher Rose – South Gippsland Water

Philip Clark – Westernport Water

Chris Newton – Westernport Water

Christopher Edwards – Westernport Water

Joanne Pearson – Westernport Water

Yvonne Dickson – Westernport Water

Diane James (Chair) – Southern Rural Water

Angus Hume – Southern Rural Water

Peta Maddy – Southern Rural Water